New: week-long to multi-month cooking courses in Italy, prices read from school sites

Find a course

Country guide · 88 courses from 54 schools

Cooking Courses in Italy, One Week and Longer

Cooking courses in Italy that last a week or longer come in three shapes. A cooking holiday puts you in one house for five to seven nights, with a class most days, meals and often wine. A long stay of two weeks to three months means a culinary school course, often with lodging, sometimes followed by a restaurant internship, or Italian lessons with cooking added. A career course in pizza, gelato, pastry or cuisine runs from one intensive week to several months and ends with a certificate.

Prices checked

Fresh egg pasta drying over a wooden rod
Photo: Angelo DeSantis, CC BY 2.0
Courses listed
8854 schools
One week from
€350median €2,700
Price per day
€16–€92777 courses with a length and price
Lengths
3About a week, 2 to 4 weeks, Longer than a month

Where to spend a week or more in Italy

Each page lists every course of a week or longer we found there, cheapest first.

About a week: courses in Italy

5 to 13 days. 54 courses, cheapest published price first; the first 6 are shown here.

All 54
€350per person, 1 weekabout US$391
Length
5 days
Per day
about €70
Taught in
Italian
Season
2027 dates: 15-19 March, 12-16 April, 17-21 May, 6-10 September, 18-22 October

Monday to Friday 17:00-20:30; each class has a historic introduction, a seminar on artworks and a practical cooking class. Language requirement for weekly cooking courses: level A2 completed. Max 8 students stated for the Thursday cooking class; not stated for this course. No lodging included (type 'holiday' used for the 5-day length only).

School page: “350 euro”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€500per personabout US$559
Length
5 days · 30 h hands-on
Per day
about €100
Group
up to 10

30 hours of laboratory, for those who just attended Training Vera Pizza or want to improve technique. Min 2 / max 10. Taxes included.

School page: “€ 500,00”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€695per person, 1 weekabout US$776
Length
1 week
Per day
about €99
Taught in
Italian
Season
2026 start: 9 November; 2027 starts: 8 February, 8 March, 5 April, 19 April, 3 May, 24 May, 30 August, 13 September, 27 September, 18 October (olive oil special), 8 November
  • Meals
  • Market visit

Minimum 2 participants. Includes language course, 2 cooking lessons with dinner and tours. Accommodation not included but the school can arrange family, B&B, hotel or apartment. Dietary needs: 'please let us know'. No lodging included (type 'holiday' used for the 5-day length only).

School page: “695€ including language course, cooking lessons and tours”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€699per person, 1 weekabout US$781
Length
1 week
Per day
about €100
Taught in
Italian
Certificate
Attendance
  • Meals

'PRICES 2027' 1 week EUR 699, 'No surprise fee'. Includes enrolment fees and taxes, Italian language course, materials, cooking ingredients, appetizers and dinner, certificate of attendance, recipe booklet. Sample week runs Monday to Friday. No lodging included (type 'holiday' used for the 5-day length only). Teaching language of the cooking part not stated.

School page: “€ 699”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€1,000per person, plus VAT (IVA)about US$1,117
Length
5 days · 30 h hands-on
Per day
about €200
Taught in
Italian
Season
Padova (Curtarolo) dates: 23–27 Nov 2026, 14–18 Dec 2026, 25–29 Jan 2027, 15–19 Feb 2027

Price shown as €1.000,00 + IVA on the Padova (Curtarolo) course page. 40 hours total: 10 theory, 30 practice. Suitable for people with no experience. Accommodation and meals not mentioned.

School page: “1.000,00”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
Length
7 days
Per day
about €179
Group
up to 10

For those who completed the basic course or have proven basic knowledge; covers gluten-free pizza, baker course, sourdough, Neapolitan frying, plus an online advanced course. Min 2 / max 10. The training overview page says taxes included; the course detail page (https://www.pizzanapoletana.org/en/corsi_avanzati/16-advanced_training_60_hours_full_immersion) lists "New student - Cost: € 1.250,00 + Iva" and €1,025 + VAT for former AVPN students and affiliated pizzerias. Dates listed: 21 Jan, 18 Feb, 11 Mar 2027.

School page: “€ 1250,00”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page

2 to 4 weeks: courses in Italy

14 to 31 days. 23 courses, cheapest published price first; the first 6 are shown here.

All 23
€580per person, from, 2 weeksabout US$648
Length
2 weeks
Per day
about €41
Taught in
Italian

Offers 1, 9 and 16 combine the standard Italian language course (mornings) with cooking and a culture course. 'The offers are valid throughout the year and can be chosen for periods from 2 to 8 weeks.' Accommodation priced separately. Price shown is 'from' for 2 weeks; longer durations on the offer detail pages (not read).

School page: “from € 580 / 2 wks”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€700per person, 2 weeksabout US$782
Length
2 weeks · 16 h hands-on
Per day
about €50
Group
up to 15
Taught in
Italian
Certificate
Attendance
Season
Start any Monday

Includes 40 group lessons, 4 cooking classes (4h), equipped kitchen, didactic material, social activities. Language classes max 15 (average 8). Certificate states lessons attended and CEFR level. Accommodation separate.

School page: “€700.00”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€1,330per person, 4 weeksabout US$1,486
Length
4 weeks · 32 h hands-on
Per day
about €48
Group
up to 15
Taught in
Italian
Certificate
Attendance
Season
Start any Monday

Includes 80 group lessons, 8 cooking classes (4h), didactic material, social activities. Accommodation separate.

School page: “€1,330.00”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€1,941per person, 4 weeksabout US$2,168
Length
4 weeks · 24 h hands-on
Per day
about €69
Taught in
Italian
  • Meals

Price table 'Italian language course + 2 cooking lessons for week': 1 week EUR 530, 2 weeks EUR 1000, 3 weeks EUR 1471, 4 weeks EUR 1941 (page renders the numbers next to template code, so quote is the number only). Extra cooking lessons EUR 68 each, max 3 per week. You taste what you cook at the end of each lesson. hands_on_hours computed from 2 x 3 h x 4 weeks.

School page: “1941”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€1,950per person, plus VATabout US$2,179
Length
4 weeks · 120 h hands-on
Per day
about €70
Taught in
Italian
Certificate
Attendance
Min. age
18

160 hours: 120 h laboratory + 20 h theory + 20 h placement in a partner pizzeria. Monday-Friday 10:00-18:00. VAT (IVA) not included. Instalments up to 12 possible subject to financing approval. Includes handouts, kit (apron, t-shirt, hat, backpack), final certificate "Pizzaiuolo Base - 160h". 2026/27 dates: 21 Sep-16 Oct 2026, 2-27 Nov 2026, 18 Jan-12 Feb 2027, 1-26 Mar 2027, 19 Apr-14 May 2027, 31 May-25 Jun 2027, 5-30 Jul 2027. Page in Italian.

School page: “€1950 + IVA”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page

Longer than a month: courses in Italy

5 weeks up to a year. 11 courses, cheapest published price first; the first 6 are shown here.

All 11
€5,000per person, entire courseabout US$5,586
Length
16 weeks · 100 h hands-on
Per day
about €45
Group
up to 12
Taught in
Italian
Certificate
Professional
Season
5 April 2027 and autumn 2027

Qualifying course under regional regulations; 100 hours over max 16 weeks, Monday-Tuesday 15:00-20:00; optional internship. Early enrolment EUR 4,500. Taught in Italian; foreign candidates need adequate Italian.

School page: “€ 5,000”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€6,000per person, taxes not includedabout US$6,703
Length
12 weeks
Per day
about €71
Taught in
Italian, English
Certificate
Professional

Monday-Friday 8:00-14:00, mandatory attendance; 6 students per school year, 2 per class. Entry only after the 3-day course and teacher approval. Diploma signed by Alessandra and Stefania Spisni; no final exam. Students arrange their own housing. Full €6,000 paid at enrolment.

School page: “COSTO: € 6000,00 per persona. (Tasse non incluse)”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€9,400tuition per student, plus €2,000 enrollment feeabout US$10,502
Length
26 weeks
Per day
about €52
Taught in
Italian, English
Certificate
Professional
  • Lodging

6-month program (about 26 weeks). 12-month version €10,400 tuition. Fees include Italian language classes, housing, weekly guided art visits and extracurricular activities. Start dates 28 Sep 2026, 25 Jan, 5 Apr, 27 Sep 2027. English interpretation provided; classes off-campus.

School page: “€9,400”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€12,000per person, entire courseabout US$13,406
Length
16 weeks · 300 h hands-on
Per day
about €107
Group
up to 12
Taught in
Italian
Season
Spring and autumn 2027 sessions

300 hours, max 16 weeks, plus 16-week curricular internship at pastry shops. Early enrolment EUR 11,000. Taught in Italian (B1 required).

School page: “€ 12,000”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page
€12,500per person, entire courseabout US$13,965
Length
16 weeks · 300 h hands-on
Per day
about €112
Group
up to 12
Taught in
Italian
Season
5 April 2027 (spring) and 4 October 2027 (autumn)

300 hours classroom, max 16 weeks, Mon-Fri 9:30-13:30, plus 16-week curricular internship. Early enrolment EUR 11,500 (spring) / EUR 12,000 (autumn). Taught in Italian; Italian-taught programmes require at least B1 Italian.

School page: “€12,500”

Read 1 Nov 2026School page

What Italy cooking courses cost

Each bar spans the cheapest to the dearest published price per person for courses of that length in Italy.

  • About a week5 to 13 days · 44 priced
    €350median €2,700€8,499
  • 2 to 4 weeks14 to 31 days · 19 priced
    €580median €2,250€6,250
  • Longer than a month5 weeks up to a year · 11 priced
    €5,000median €12,500€30,200
Published prices per person in euros (US dollar and pound prices converted at the ECB rate), log scale. The dot is the median.

About cooking in Italy

Every price on this page is copied from the school’s own website, with the date we read it and a link to that page. When a school does not publish a price, we say so instead of guessing. Prices are in the school’s currency, with an approximate figure in euros or US dollars at the European Central Bank rate, and a price per day so that a one-week and a one-month course can be compared.

Dishes you are likely to cook: fresh pasta, pizza, gelato, pastry, ragù, risotto.

How to choose a course in Italy

  • Decide how long you can stay first: one week, two to four weeks, or a season. The price per day falls for longer courses, but the total rises.
  • Pick the region for the food you want to learn: Tuscan home cooking around Florence and Siena, fresh egg pasta in Bologna, pizza in Naples, and the cooking of Sicily, Puglia, Umbria or Piedmont at country schools.
  • Check what the price covers: lodging, meals, wine, transfers and excursions vary from course to course.
  • Staying more than 90 days? Non-EU visitors need a study visa; check before you book.

Best months for a class in Italy

Spring and autumn are the main season for cooking holidays, and many country schools close between November and March. Culinary and career courses run on fixed start dates through the year.

Getting there

Rome Fiumicino, Milan Malpensa, Florence, Pisa, Bologna, Naples, Bari and Catania all have international airports, and high-speed trains link Naples, Rome, Florence, Bologna and Milan.

Schools in Italy

The 12 schools with the most courses listed; see all 54 on the schools page.

All 54 schools

The International Kitchen

Tuscany · Several Tuscan bases: Chianti (Salvadonica), Cortona (Il Falconiere, Pergo), Campiglia Marittima

  • Cooking holiday

From US$2,750 per person, starting at · 4 courses

Italian Culinary Institute

Stalettì, Calabria · Localita Caminia, Staletti (CZ), Calabria

  • Culinary course
  • Career course

Prices on request · 4 courses

ALMA - Scuola Internazionale di Cucina Italiana

Colorno (Parma) · Piazza Garibaldi 26, Colorno (Parma)

  • Career course
  • Culinary course

From €4,900 per person · 4 courses

ICIF - Italian Culinary Institute for Foreigners

Costigliole d'Asti · Castle of Costigliole d'Asti (AT)

  • Career course

From €2,900 per person, complete course · 4 courses

CAST Alimenti

Brescia · Brescia campus

  • Career course
  • Cooking holiday

From €2,240 per person · 4 courses

Congusto Institute

Milan · Milan

  • Career course

From €5,000 per person, entire course · 4 courses

Associazione Verace Pizza Napoletana (AVPN)

Naples · Via Capodimonte 19a, Naples

  • Career course

From €500 per person · 3 courses

Accademia Niko Romito

Castel Di Sangro · Casadonna complex, Localita Piana Santa Liberata, Castel di Sangro (AQ)

  • Career course

From €1,500 per person, + VAT · 3 courses

Apicius International School of Hospitality

Florence · Florence (part of Florence University of the Arts / AUF)

  • Career course

From US$4,250 per student, 3 credits · 2 courses

Accademia Riaci – Florence Culinary Arts School

Florence · Via dei Conti 4, Florence historic centre (cooking classes off-campus)

  • Career course
  • Cooking holiday

From €1,450 per student, without housing · 2 courses

Anna Tasca Lanza

Vallelunga Pratameno, Sicily · Case Vecchie, Contrada Regaleali, rural central Sicily

  • Cooking holiday

From €3,100 per single room · 2 courses

The Awaiting Table

Lecce, Puglia · Lecce, Salento

  • Cooking holiday

From €2,295 per person · 2 courses

Filter every course by length, budget and diet

The course finder searches all listed courses in one place.

Open the course finder

Cooking Courses in Italy, One Week and Longer: questions

How much does a cooking course in Italy cost?

About a week (5 to 13 days): published prices run from €350 to €8,499 per person (44 priced), the lowest being Istituto Venezia at €350 per person, 1 week. 2 to 4 weeks (14 to 31 days): published prices run from €580 to €6,250 per person (19 priced), the lowest being Istituto Michelangelo at €580 per person, from, 2 weeks. Longer than a month (5 weeks up to a year): published prices run from €5,000 to €30,200 per person (11 priced), the lowest being Congusto Institute at €5,000 per person, entire course. Prices were read on each school’s website; US dollar and pound prices are converted to euros at the ECB rate.

Why do some Italy courses say “price on request”?

11 of the 88 courses listed here do not publish a price on the school’s website, usually because they are private classes or priced by group size. We do not estimate those; write to the school, or send us your dates through the enquiry form and we will ask.

Where in Italy is best for a week-long cooking course?

It depends on what you want to cook. Tuscany has the most week-long cooking holidays, in farmhouses and wine estates. Bologna and Emilia-Romagna are the place for fresh egg pasta and gelato training. Naples is where pizzaiolo courses are taught. Sicily, Puglia, Umbria and Piedmont have smaller country schools with their own regional food.

Are cooking courses in Italy taught in English?

Courses for international guests are mostly taught in English, and several also teach in Italian. Some professional courses teach in Italian with English on set dates or with an interpreter. Each course card lists the languages the school names on its own page.

Do I need cooking experience for a week-long course?

No. Cooking holidays and most long-stay courses are designed for home cooks. Professional courses also accept beginners at starter level but are more intense and usually require you to be 18 or older.